Filler Piece

Since I’m so incredibly tired today (I woke up at 11 am on Sunday and haven’t slept since), I’m going to present you all with a RERUN.  Now those of you who weren’t on my e-mail list 2 years ago when I took a mid-life crisis, month-long vacation to Paris, this is a new episode.

So let’s pretend that it’s the summer of 2007…

We’re safe and sound in Paris!  I’m totally in my element.  John has been sleeping for days while I go out and about.  I like my apartment – no closet

space though.  No room for my shoes!  All 17 pairs.  We’re so close to everything!  The shopping is phenomenal – I was hyperventilating.

Hope all is well back home.

Love,

Jacqui

Well today is Bastille Day in the city of lights.  Yesterday was a long day.  We left the apt at 11 am and didn’t get back until 9:30 – then went to dinner.

We saw Sacre Coeur, Montmartre, La Tour Eiffel, Le Palais Royal, Ecole Militaire, Musee d’Orsay and Louvre (outside only).  We walked everywhere!!!!  My feet hurt.  I guess platform shoes were not the best choice but I can’t imagine myself wearing sneakers.  All is well here.  I’m eating well.  So far I’ve had:  une omelette au jambon et au fromage, l’entrecote avec Bleu d’Auvergne, les pates avec du canard et des champignons, le couscous avec du boeuf and le veau milanese.  The bread is great – haven’t had a croissant yet.

Take care.

Jacq

Hi everyone!  Well it’s Thursday, 7/19, at 9:52 am (3:52 am EST).

We’re exhausted!  We have been walking everywhere.  It’s beautiful here and hasn’t changed a lot in 20 years.  I always feel so at home here.  I think John is also feeling that way.  I think I’ve convinced him to buy something here in the next couple of years or when we can afford it – whichever comes first.  I knew he would love it – but I was getting nervous for a while.  We have also been drinking tons of Champagne. It’s been so good.

Last night we had another great meal at Chez Julien – on or almost on the Ile St Louis.  John has become addicted to melon and proscuitto – I usually forgo the appetizer.  Last night I had a tuna steak with ratatouille that was “incroyable”.

Some other great restos that we’ve been to are:  Au Bourguignon du Marais – I recommend the steak au poivre and the boeuf bourguignon. Le Coude Fou – L’enrecote avec bleu d’Auvergne (steak w/ blue cheese).  Chez Omar – for delicious, no frills couscous – le boeuf (the beef) was fab – cash only. Les Deux Magots – for a bottle of their house champagne.  Little Cafe – for a late night (’til 2 am) “verre”.  Pozzetto – for yummy gelato

There are so many more – I can’t remember.

I’ve taken almost 500 picts already – John – 6 rolls of film. We’ll have to have a slide show presentation chez moi when I return.

Dad is doing well with my kitties.  I miss them.  They’re driving him crazy – but he likes it!

Everyone has been so nice here.  Even John admitted it.  The French get a bad rap. We never made it to Italy – there is just so much  to do here.  Best part of the trip:  the sights, sounds and atmosphere.  Worst part:  the 3 hr train ride from Hell.  No seats, no A/C, crammed in like sardines – no exaggeration!  P.U.

Neighborhoods we like:  4th Le Marais, Montmartre, St Michel, St Germain, Hotel de Ville.

Neighborhoods we don’t:  les Halles, Chatelet, around the Champs Elysees, around “les grands magasins” like Galeries Lafayette and Printemps.

That’s about it.  John leaves on Sat – so I’ll need your e-mails to keep me going.

Hope all is well chez vous. Talk to you soon.

Jacqui

I’ll resume my blog tomorrow.  Goodnight all!


One response to “Filler Piece

  1. Dear Jacqui, All of it sounds so incroyable…is that right? Wow….I think I need to go buy another Le Creuset pot with a French cookbook.. xoxo…. Cathy

Leave a Reply

