Social Butterflies

Those of you who knew me when I was very young, know that I was extremely shy.  I was turning into a backwards social-phobic like my dad, and my mother decided that she had to do something about it so she signed me up for baton twirling.

At the age of 7 I started twirling as a Masonette in Bloomfield. NJ.  My twirling teacher had another school called the Elkettes in Nutley and they were our rival.  As time passed the Bloomfield girls and the Nutley girls merged as the Elkettes when Angie closed our school.  Baton Twirling was big in the 70s and 80s.

Before I reached 9, my teacher approached us and told my mom that I had natural talent and wanted me to take “private lessons”.  I did and headed down the path of traveling to weekly competitions, a lot of practice, pageants and modeling.  I moved up fast and after blinking once or twice, I was in Advanced.  My parents’ house is still riddled with my trophies in every cabinet and corner.

Although still shy on occasion, I came out of my shell and never went back in.  I was becoming my mother.  Multiply me by 50 and you’ll get Phyllis.  The biggest social butterfly I’ve ever known.  She talked to EVERYBODY.  I talk to almost everybody.

So I guess I learned from the best.  I LOVE going out.  The feeling I get when I’m around people is a total rush – a total high.  Once I’m out, I can stay out all night with an energy that rivals the youngest partier.

I love to surround myself with all types of people:  young, old, smart, not so smart, nerdy, cool, rich, poor, blue-collar, white-collar, men, women, Italians, non-Italians, people who love Opera, people who love Bluegrass, fat, skinny, average, blonde, dark, white, black, Asian, European, hispanic, people who “got it going on” and people who can’t seem to get their acts together.  Good guys, bad guys, all guys, famous people, infamous people, just people.  I mean it.

Tous ces gens make me who I am.  So faced with the choice of going out or staying home, I will usually choose O U T in a heartbeat.  I can’t help myself.  Wherever I go I always seem to bump into someone I know.  Don’t get me wrong, I love spending time at home in the environment I created, but going out… Ahhhhhhhhhhh….  It’s the best.

2 responses to “Social Butterflies

  1. So maybe this is one thing that we don’t share in our blood. I can’t stand to be around people. Don’t get me wrong, I like pretty much everyone and I have quite a few acquaintances, but I only count a very few as very good friends and although I like to spend SOME time with them, I’m more of a loner. Most of the time I’d rather be left alone. I don’t know if that makes me eccentric or selfish or arrogant or whatever the label may be….but that’s the way I am. That’s probably why I really enjoy my overnight shift at the hospital….I can lock myself up in my department and not see or talk to anyone the whole shift and I LOVE IT!!

Leave a Reply

