Why Teachers Need Summers Off

In loco parentis.  Is this really true?  For 185 days we teach, we enlighten and frankly babysit other people’s children.  We can’t beat them (well, in some states you can – maybe I should move there), we are often unable to punish them effectively (there is often no follow-through).  We can’t take their IPODS & cell phones away for any extended period of time.  We can’t ground them.  We can’t even assess book fines without someone whining profusely, then calling administration to complain about the fine – oh and don’t forget checking to see if the others have wiped their asses too.  We can’t even give a quiz, test or exam without some kind of negative brouhaha.

So how the f**** parental are we?  I say, not very.

Many parents need parents.  Maybe they should go back home and remember what they were taught as younggins.  That teachers should be respected not disrespected.  If I came home with a book fine, my parents would not question the teacher, they would pay the fine.  I find it ridiculous and frankly embarrassing that no one is responsible for their own actions anymore.  When does it stop?  Does it ever?

People.  Take responsibility for you own actions.  EVERYONE!

Before becoming a teacher, I never understood why teachers had sick days.  I guess I just figured that you can train your body to be sick only in the off months.  Was I wrong!  Working in a school is like living in a prime germ incubation bubble that is relentless.  If you have a terrible immune system like mine, you’ll be sure to catch EVERYTHING – and I do catch everything.  I welcome the sick days because, frankly, I need them when I’m so ill that I can’t function enough to get out of bed.

Summer is another story.  Summer recharges your batteries.  It refreshes you after be being beaten down all year by students and parents (not all of them) and other powers that be.  By June I’m ready to commit murder, seriously hurt someone or just pick up my purse and leave.  In this current economic environment – not such a good idea.  Mental health days are a must.  A necessary evil so that you keep your job when all your common sense and composure seem to leap out the window and cause you to snap like a twig.

It’s really difficult not to lose your cool when tensions are high and morale is down – the current environment in NJ and elsewhere has not been very teacher-friendly.  Summer is my saviour:  job saviour, people saviour, savior from jail, etc….

By mid-August I’m ready to go back (unless I’m on some fabulous vacation) to work and start off fresh.  I love summer because I can relax, veg or get stuff done around the house.  If you are someone who wants to teach, don’t do it for the vacation time (you won’t survive), do it because you love teaching and you’re not afraid of hard work.

Happy Summer!

© 2010 J. H-M and CultureChoc2010.

3 responses to “Why Teachers Need Summers Off

  1. As a former teacher, I hear you! and I applaud you for the work you do. It’s difficult, frustrating and there’s so much more to do than teach anymore, but you are so important to so many people who will remember, who do appreciate. Keep up the good work!

  2. Great post, very informative. Keep up the good work, Thanks.

  3. Agreed! My mom was a classroom teacher for almost 20 years, and lots of my friends are now teachers. Totally deserve a summer vacation. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

