A Tale of Three Pussies: A New Ménage À Trois

Why do I make my life harder than it already is?  Why?  Because I’m a sucker.

I was shopping for cat and wild bird food at Petsmart the other day when I ducked in to see what kitties S.A.V.E. had up for adoption.  I saw a ton of kittens and a few older cats that were absolutely adorable.  Every few days I went back and finally left my phone number for a cat named Thursday.  Thursday is a 5 years old female DLH/Maine Coon who looks just like my cat Bailey.

Bailey was my first – a stray my husband brought home from Elizabeth.  He’s 8 and black and white and full of hell.  Then I adopted another cat 5 years ago, Peaches.  She’s 10 years old and although small, holds her out with my Alpha-male beast.

I brought Thursday home on Wednesday against my husband’s will and my better judgement but I just wanted to give her a home.  She was sitting in the shelter so long that I couldn’t let her stay for another minute.

She is a love.  Affectionate and cuddly, she’s breaking my heart.  She’s a doll.

When you have cats in the house already you have to acclimate them to each other so the fur doesn’t fly and no fights ensue.  So Thursday is currently residing in my office even though she’s dying to come out.

My new baby is having stomach issues and made a mess of herself last night.  I tried to clean her but she was too skittish and I didn’t want to frighten her any longer.  Fast forward a couple of hours – the situation is worse.  I planned on taking her to the groomers for a bath but I had to remedy the problem ASAP. so I decided to give her a bath myself.

Bailey had always been a good boy in the tub but Bailey has no front claws.  Did I mention that Thursday has all her claws?????

I brought her in the bathroom and put her in the bathtub (with me) and closed the glass doors.  Boy was I in for it!  As soon as the water started trickling down she started a crying serenade that would challenge the greatest opera singers in the world.  I shampooed most of her, cleaned her butt and tried to get it all rinsed off.  Ha.  I did my best all the while telling her that she was such a good girl.

Thursday survived the bath and now looks like a drowned rat – I did not escape unscathed.  While trying to return her to her safe-room she clawed the heck out of both my arms as I narrowly escaped face and boob lacerations.  Whew!

So I ask you, am I caring or crazy or maybe a little of both?  My husband always wanted more than one pussy in the bed, now I guess he got his wish!

© 2010 J. H-M and CultureChoc2010.

6 responses to “A Tale of Three Pussies: A New Ménage À Trois

  1. A third cat just means more hair flying around (LOL)….it really isn’t much more of a burden. I’m like you….if I could I’d take in as many strays or unwanted cats that I could just to give them a loving and comfortable home but I know that is not reality. I took in my 3rd cat initially as a foster cat. She was born in my yard to a feral mother and my yard was the only home she’s ever known and she knows me very well too. When she became the sole object of all the males that could sniff her out and she started having back-to-back litters (all the kittens of which I successfully adopted out) I finally took her in….at first thinking that I’d have her spayed then release her back outside. But as the days went on and she was healing from her hysterectomy, she started exploring the living area. I had her isolated away in a side room…with lots of windows….but my other cats liked to go in there and sit in the low and wide window sills, so I left the door open so either they could go in or Sweetie could venture out. My one cat Boo…who was also a feral cat from outside in the neighborhood and may very well be related to Sweetie, really resented the new intrusion and hissed every time Sweetie came near her. Sweetie seems very emotionally needy and wants constant companionship and was very patient with Boo. Pumpkin, the first cat I adopted, is a loner and would rather find a quiet hideaway to sleep all day than to be part of any kind of play, so Sweetie learned early on not to approach her for affection. However, she really grew on Boo and now they’re inseperable. They play, groom each other, and cuddle while they sleep. When I first took Sweetie in I did what I could to find her a good home. I really had no intention of keeping her. I had ads all over the place….I put an ad up on our work e-mail (I had given her first litter to good homes through that route), but no one seemed interested in a 1 year old cat who wasn’t an adorable little kitten. Even the shelters were rejecting her because they were already past their limit of stray cats. So here she’s stayed. 3 cats seems a little excessive, but if they’re happy and healthy that’s all that matters. My cats adore each other…there has never been a fight between any of them….they’re all females and they’re all spayed. Plus, I’m very lucky that 2 feral cats turned out so sweet and loving. I just wouldn’t have the heart to send them back into the wilderness to fend for themselves. They have it far too good here…..a loving home with a mom that dotes on them, a warm bed, fun toys, food bowls that are never empty, and they can sleep soundly and in peace in confidence that no predator is sneaking up on them. I hope your 3 cats live in harmony too. It really is nice to see them become a family.

  2. Don’t ask a person that question who has a dog, 2 cats, 4 birds, fish, and a snake. LOL! Now that is crazy! 🙂 Nice that you gave an older kitty a home!!! Many years of happiness to you all!

  3. wow!!!!! u got another cat wow! didnt see that coming

  4. Your cats are so pretty, especially Thursday!

    And, for the record, I’d say you are caring. 🙂

  5. Pingback: Contesse “Thursday” Jeudi de la Mer | Culturechoc2010's Blog

Leave a Reply

