When We Don’t Have The Words

Sometimes we just don’t have the words to express what we want or need to say.  Here are some of my favorite quotes:

  • “L’enfer, c’est les autres.” (Hell is other people.) – Jean-Paul Sartre
  • “One is not born, but rather becomes, a woman.” – Simone de Beauvoir
  • “I’ve been rich and I’ve been poor. It’s better to be rich.” – Gertrude Stein
  • “America is my country and Paris is my hometown.” – Gertrude Stein
  • “A woman who thinks she is intelligent demands the same rights as man. An intelligent woman gives up.” – Sidonie Gabrielle Colette
  • “Anyone who keeps the ability to see beauty never grows old.” – Franz Kafka
  • “I prefer a pleasant vice to an annoying virtue.” – Molière
  • “A dame that knows the ropes isn’t likely to get tied up.” – Mae West
  • “I don’t know who invented high heels, but all women owe him a lot.” – Marilyn Monroe
  • “I rant, therefore I am.” – Dennis Miller
  • “Sex is as important as eating or drinking and we ought to allow the one appetite to be satisfied with as little restraint or false modesty as the other.” – Marquis de Sade
  • “Mistakes are part of the dues one pays for a full life.” – Sophia Loren
  • “Don’t compromise yourself. You are all you’ve got.” – Janis Joplin

What’s your favorite quote?  Please share.

Image: Gregory Szarkiewicz / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

© 2010 J. H-M and CultureChoc2010.

8 responses to “When We Don’t Have The Words

  1. Love this! Mine is “If you wanna sing out, sing out” by Cat Stevens or anything Maude said in the film Harold and Maude.

  2. Such excellent quotes (and a few French ones in there, too, which I love.)

    Hmmmm…do I have a favorite? I have several, but here’s one that’s rather amusing in a wry way and yet true from Winston Churchill – “If you’re going through hell, keep going.”

  3. “If you always do what interests you, then at least one person is pleased.”-Katharine Hepburn

    “If you obey all the rules, you miss all the fun.”-Katharaine Hepburn

    “Women should be obscene not heard”-Groucho Marx

    One of my NEW favorites…

    “I like being weird! Being weird is all I’ve got! That and my sweet style.”-Moss from “The IT Crowd”

  4. P.S. I love the Mae West and Moliere quote you posted!

Leave a Reply

