I Wonder If I Take You Home, Will I Still Be In Love With You? Because I NEED You Tonight.

I love to shop.  Shopping is my drug.

I don’t know if anyone is like me, but I love to buy things that I THINK I’ll use but it never quite works out that way.

As a child I got bored very easily and as an adult nothing much has changed.  Is it ADD?  ADHD?  I had that before there was a name for it – I think they called it “hyperactive”.

Well, I’m not sure what it is, but I continue to bring things home that I never use – or maybe use once.  Some of my splurges are big-ticket items – not good.

My purchases… Case in point:

1976 Fiat

  • YUDU Silk-Screening Machine
  • Cricut Expressions Die Cutting Machine
  • Any other gadget pertaining to scrapbooking
  • Hamburger Presses and Cedar Planks from Williams-Sonoma
  • A VHS to DVD Converter
  • Countless pairs of shoes, purses and clothes (I have tags on too many things)
  • A DVD Recorder
  • A 1976 Fiat Spider (I can count on one hand how many times we used that car)
  • A Mosquito Delito (used 1 tank of LP then the squirrels ate it)
  • A +$100 pool pouf from Frontgate
  • A Total Gym & Elliptical

The above items sit and collect dust.  They even make a great place to hang my clothes.   My cats love the Total Gym.  The Fiat has a flat.  And my pouf is thrown shamelessly in the shed atop a heap of sh**.

It’s a shameful list but there are also things I didn’t buy but wanted to so much.  Either I talked myself out of the purchase, my husband did or my friend Jen did – Thanks Jen:

  • Cricut Cake Cutting Machine
  • $1200 shoes for $349
  • 2 iRobot Roombas (I have a Scooba already)
  • A WiFi Blu-ray Player

And the list goes on.  Buyer’s remorse?  Maybe.  Not taking it home?  Regret, perhaps.  Instead of looking at the Casadei shoes as an expense of $349, I looked at it as if I was saving $851.  I know.  I’m crazy.

Is there anyone else out there like me?

© 2010 J. H-M and CultureChoc2010.

    Leave a Reply

    