When the Lights Go Out: What Can You Do?

A power outage? No TV, no computer, no light for reading or playing board games. My flashlights never have working batteries (if I can find a flashlight) but I always have plenty of candles on hand just in case.

Thunderstorm over Chesapeake Bay

Thunderstorms always freak me out. I hate the noise, the lightning, the wind and the rain. My cats are afraid of the thunder but seemed intrigued by the flashes of light in the sky.

I’m interested in none of the above and I’m definitely not interested in a power outage.

A power outage? No TV, no computer, no lights for reading or playing board games. My flashlights never have working batteries (if I can find a flashlight) but I always have plenty of candles on hand just in case.

I would probably pace and call the power company to report the outage and then what?

Sex? If my husband is home – not as much fun alone.

Music? I have NOTHING battery-powered.

Food? I don’t want to open the fridge or freezer and I can’t cook because I have “electronic ignition” on my stove.

Clean? What the heck could I possible see?

Sleep? Seems like the best idea but if it was early I’d be up all night.

Exercise? I don’t work out with the lights on….

Converse? With whom? I’m alone Monday through Friday – except for the cats.

Frankly, I have no good ideas. Maybe I could hand-write my blog by candlelight… who knows!

What would you do?

© 2010 J. H-M and CultureChoc2010.

Powered by Plinky

Leave a Reply

