Everybody Into The Pool!

I was floating in the pool yesterday on a raft, enjoying the intense and warming sun when I started to think about my childhood in the pool.

1970's

I grew up in a North Jersey town where the houses were about a driveway apart.  We had a n 18′ round, above-the-ground pool that was crystal clear and the center of my summer vacation.  I spent day and night in that pool getting waterlogged and loving every minute of it.  My skin turned brown and my hair blonde.  I loved the pool.

Some of my favorite “pool” memories still seem like yesterday.  They are so fresh in my mind and thrill me when I think about them.

  • Marco Polo:  I love this game!  I was like a slippery fish never caught by my friends.
  • Holding your breath under water:  My dad could hold his breath for so long that no one could ever beat him.  My mom used to get nervous when he stayed under for so long.  It had to be 3 minutes (and I’m not exaggerating).  Insane.
  • Desert Island:  Sue and I pretended to be stranded in the ocean floating on a raft.  Everything we needed was below the raft:  food, clothing, supplies.  No sharks.   No very realistic but it occupied us for hours.
  • Chicken Fights:  I was never a fan at the time but as an adult I crave a good chicken fight.

These games seem so far away now though I do love to play Marco Polo – my husband refuses to play.  Party pooper.

© 2010 J. H-M and CultureChoc2010.

4 responses to “Everybody Into The Pool!

  1. Marco Polo could be a great game for adults as foreplay!!!

  2. berrymelon1437101

    I used to spend most of the time in the pool when I was young and at my aunt’s house. Morning swim, evening swim and night swim… hahah.. But it was fun 🙂

  3. I personally love canon balling into the pool. So fun!

  4. Pingback: My Life As A Jersey Girl | Culturechoc2010's Blog

Leave a Reply

