Journal of a Dieting Diva: A New Page

The right way to diet is to change your eating regime.  Eat healthier.  Eat smaller portions.  Count your calories.  It’s always worked for me.

When I count my calories I take the weight off quickly and it stays off as long as I continue to eat right.  The only problem is that I get completely obsessed.  I am an all or nothing person with no happy medium and after about 6 months of dieting I have to get off it because I seem to develop an eating disorder.

The vicious circle continues when I start eating like a pig and gain some weight back.  Then I start over.  Eat healthier.  Eat smaller portions.  Count calories.

So on Wednesday, August 25, 2010 I went back to square one.  I weighed myself and measured every inch of my body so I can get an accurate reading of what must be done.  It wasn’t pretty.

It’s amazing.  I gained 26 pounds since I jumped off the calorie caboose.  Being 5’2″ tall my body does not like extra weight and when I carry something… forget it.  My back hurts, my knees hurt – you name it.

I’ll start out with 1400 calories per day and gradually decrease as needed.  It’s a scientific formula.  In the past year I’ve gone from a size 4 to a 10 and everywhere in between.  I need to get back on the train for my health.

Check back on my page Journal of a Dieting Diva to follow my progress!

Image: Michal Marcol / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

© 2010 J. H-M and CultureChoc2010.

6 responses to “Journal of a Dieting Diva: A New Page

  1. I am exactly the same way! I become so obsessed and eventually am not even eating close to the number of calories I should be. This past year my older sister and her family went full-on fat-free, sodium free, and sugar-free (added sugars) vegan for health reasons. Then my mom jumped on board, then my two younger sisters. I tried, twice, both times I found myself at the end of the day, having only eaten watermelon, spinache, nuts and bananas. I just can’t diet well. I’m trying again with the vegan thing. We’ll see. Good luck with your 1400 calories. I hope you keep blogging about it, it’s good to read about how others stick with their diets and adapt to make them work.

  2. Catherine Schetting Salfino

    Good luck!! Losing weight is so tough for me — if only it was as easy to drop weight as it is to put it on!!!

  3. I use to have the same problem with obsessing about dieting. This year I am doing things differently. I have been exercising every day and seeing a trainer.
    As for food goes, I decided to NOT diet this time. It sounds funny but I am simply analyzing everything I eat and drink. I thought this would be worse but I love it. Every decision is in my control. I don’t feel limited but in reality I am limiting myself.
    I have also stopped eating fast food. (None since March). I didn’t even realize how much I was eating out. Now when I do go it is something special and not fast food.
    This is just what is working for me. (I’ve lost 31 lbs since March and still going strong). I am sure you will find your own solution. Good luck!

  4. Easier said than done. Gawd food is so gosh darned delicious! How can you resist it! 1400 calories is easy, its the fat content thats hard. I can exercise for hours a day – no problem. My issue always comes back to the food.
    sigh.

    Good luck though cuz you’re right – @ 5’2″ you don’t have much room to spread out those layers of fat!
    All the best!

  5. You are not alone. I, too, am an all or nothing person. A few years ago, I lsot 70 lbs in 7 months – working out like crazy and a very strict diet. I gained it all back after a year plus some.
    I trying something new this time – I change one thing at a time with no set time in between. The change has to stick before I’ll change something else. When I realize that I’m doing it without even thinking about it, I change something else. For example, a couple of months ago I was diagnosed with a gall bladder problem and among other things the MD suggested I switch to egg whites. So I did. I only slipped once since I started so a couple of weeks ago I started to have a mostly veggie meal once a day (usually a salad with some chicken or shrimp). Although, I’m not doing as well with this one, it is becoming a choice that makes me feel better. I am hoping that these slow, “one step at time” changes will stick this time getting me off the loop. Good luck to you!

  6. I love your idea of eliminating one problem food at a time. Brilliant. I hadn’t thought of it quite that way. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

