Jacqui’s Neapolitan Meatballs

Being a food snob, I never eat anyone else’s meatballs.  I’ve tried to choke some down but I’m usually disappointed.

My mom made great meatballs but when I tried to duplicate them, they were too dry and didn’t taste like Mommy’s.  So I went back to my great-grandmother’s “word-of-mouth” recipe that my mom told me about.  I worked on them for a while and finally came up with an incredible recipe that makes my husband say, “You make the best meatballs I’ve ever tasted!”

Jacqui’s Neapolitan Meatballs

3 c Italian bread – processed into breadcrumbs in a processor
1 c whole milk
1 lb ground veal
1 lb ground pork
3 eggs beaten
1/4 c minced fresh parsley
1 c grated pecorino romano
4 lg cloves garlic minced
salt & pepper
dried Italian style breadcrumbs

Heat oven to 325 – 350.
In a small bowl, soak fresh breadcrumbs in milk.

In a large bowl combine veal, pork, eggs, parsley, cheese, garlic, salt, pepper & soaked bread.  Mix with hands.

Add a dash of dried breadcrumbs for flavor.  Mix thoroughly.  Roll meatballs into uniformed size – I like mine larger but you pick a size.

Place onto a baking sheet prepared with Pam.

Bake in oven until lightly browned.  Check i 10 – 15 minute intervals.  Do not overcook – they will cook in gravy.  Add to gravy.   Makes about 18.

From Jacq’s Kitchen pastedGraphic.pdf

© 2010 J. H-M and CultureChoc2010.

5 responses to “Jacqui’s Neapolitan Meatballs

  1. Mmmm, those sound deliscch. 🙂

    My wife makes a good meatball with a sort of sweet grape jelly gravy. Not exactly sure what all she puts in it, but it’s fantastic. Don’t think she’ll let me post the recipe though.

  2. Allie Mcmorrow

    Now I need your “gravy” recipe…..please 🙂

Leave a Reply

