It’s Beginning To Look A Lot Like Christmas

Not an original title but true in any case…

Today I saw my first snow flurry of the season.  New Jersey was cold today!  It seems like there is no easing into the colder temperatures nowadays – the transition isn’t really a transition at all.  One day can be 60 degrees and the next below 30!  My body can’t take it.

It was also the first day I longed for Christmas music with a glass of red and a mountain of Christmas boxes in my living room.

I’m not a Thanksgiving weekend Christmas decorator.  I need a buffer.  A natural cushion between the holiday seasons.  I hate shopping for Thanksgiving paraphernalia when I see a store replete with Christmas trees and Santas and angels, etc, etc, etc.

It drives me crazy!

So when I finally start getting into the Christmas groove, I need to hear my favorite Christmas music.

I love the old favorites like Sinatra, Nat King Cole, Bing Crosby and of course, The Chipmunks – but a bunch of other songs – hits and not – have made it into my music library.  Just a little taste…

I haven’t purchased any recent albums but I’ll be perusing ¡Tunes shortly.

What’s in your Christmas Music library?

© 2010 J. H-M and CultureChoc2010.

    2 responses to “It’s Beginning To Look A Lot Like Christmas

    1. The VERY first one I put on is “A Charlie Brown Christmas” (Vince Guaraldi Trio). It always has to be first. Then I might listen to Hanson’s “Snowed In”…great classic rock Christmas songs! I’ve got a CD of the songs from all those Rankin Bass Christmas stories (Santa Claus is Coming to Town, Rudolph, Frosty, and The Year Without a Santa Claus) and LOVE to sing along…also have them all on VHS. If I’m feeling wacky I’ll put on Bob Rivers’ “Twisted Christmas”. Then in no particular order, I love to listen to Barry Manilow’s “Because It’s Christmas”, “WCBS FM 101.1 The Ultimate Christmas Album” with all those great classic Christmas songs from the radio. And then maybe I’ll go for Tchaikovky’s “Nutcracker Suite”. I’ve got tons more, but these are the usuals to start off the season. I don’t play them until I start decorating.

    Leave a Reply

    