Advice From My Mother

I have to say that my mom was 99.9% right about everything.  As much as I hate to admit it, I have to tell the truth.  She was a tough one my mother and had a heart of gold.

Our parents are always trying to save us from ourselves.  They do it because they love us and really do (most of the time) know better.  I didn’t realize that until I was 25 years old (I’m 43 now).  I guess we eventually become our parents and with age realize that it’s not so bad.

I’ve been thinking about all the advice she gave me.  I think about all the crazy and funny things she used to say and I had to put it down on paper – or computer.  I’m sure your parents said similar or even the same things.  I find myself recycling her wisdom as well.

She would say, “Jacq, listen to me.  I’m your mother.”

  • Always wear a girdle.
  • Don’t shit where you eat.
  • Blood is thicker than water.
  • Your kids will stick it up your ass so make sure your marriage comes first.
  • Why would a man want to buy the cow when he gets the milk for free.
  • If you want something done right you have to do it yourself.
  • Believe half of what you see and none of what you hear.
  • Be self-sufficient and get a good education.  Never depend on a man to support you.
  • What do you need to have kids for?
  • I’m your mother FIRST and then your friend.
  • Trust no one.
  • Men are stupid.
  • I’m right.  I’m always right.

There are so many more but then I’d be here longer than my ongoing Shoe Shockblog.

Moms are wise, smart, caring, crazy, fun – a little bit of everything.  My mom was.  I know she’s in Heaven keeping busy and probably running the show.

© 2010 J. H-M and CultureChoc2010.

2 responses to “Advice From My Mother

  1. My mum always say this too “Blood is thicker than water.”

  2. Pingback: My Life As A Jersey Girl | Culturechoc2010's Blog

Leave a Reply

