Stuck in The Snow: A New Jersey Snowmare

Right after Christmas, New Jersey was pummeled with a winter snow storm that dropped 32 inches on our Jersey Shore town, crippling the entire state with record amounts of snowfall and high winds that created 6 foot drifts in some areas.

At 3 am on Sunday night the snow was still coming down and the wind was gusting at top speed.  My snowblower was buried in the yard.  My cars were buried in a snowy grave and my poor lighted reindeer were covered by the White After-Christmas festivities.

We were plowed out pretty quickly (by Monday night), no thanks to the Township, but there were still some people on Wednesday whose streets weren’t touched and who were stranded at home as they waited as slaves to their municipality.

That meant no work, no food and if you were is real bad shape – no toilet paper!

My dad was stuck at our house for at least another day but was dying to go home on Tuesday.  At 2 pm, with a shovel thrown in the back of my BMW, we made our way up the block to the main drag.  At the end of the poorly plowed, slippery street the snow walls were so high that you had to creep out a little bit to see and pray you didn’t get hit by a car carelessly barreling around the curve.

As luck would have it my low-to-the-ground BMW with its performance tires got stuck right at the end of the block.  I rocked back and forth for a good 15 minutes before I freed myself for the rut I was it while 2 male “neighbors” watched like the jerk offs that they are.  My 83-year-old father insisted on getting out to push me loose but I told him to stay in the friggin’ car and if anyone had to push it would be me.

Happily, we made it out and continued sliding all the way to the GSP.

The roads were terrible especially through Monmouth County.  I was driving along and all of a sudden a lane would end.  End.  No kidding.  It would end and I had two choices:

  • crash into the snow bank and destroy my car and/or its passengers.
  • quickly jump to next lane without crashing into another car.

What a nightmare!  Three lanes went to two lanes.  Then the two right lanes.  Then all of a sudden travel was in the 2 left lanes.  One lane.  Two lanes.  Three lanes.  One lane.  One and half – and on and on and on.

This was all south of the bridge which only proves my theory that towns and the state for that matter  below the bridge are clueless about snow removal.  What a half-assed job that cause countless accidents, debilitating traffic and general malaise.

When we arrived my father and I were arguing about who would shovel a path to his door.  Stubborn Daddy won but then let me take over half way through.  My father’s town was shoddily plowed as well but I made it in and out with no major problems.

So headed southbound and as soon as I got on the Parkway, I was in bumper-to-bumper traffic.  I was stuck for at least 45 minutes in a 3 mile span because of an overturned car that I never saw.  It was stop and go all the way but the fun stuff came south of the bridge.  Not only did going north suck, southbound sucked too.

Again with the disappearing lanes!  What the Hell?  Five hours later at almost 5 pm I arrived home.  A trip that should have taken less than 2 hours!

Just another reason to hate New Jersey.  Highest property taxes.  Ridiculous cost of living.  Bully governor.  I cannot go on for fear I might offend someone.  That about sums it up.

Some people have to go to work because they don’t get paid if they don’t.  Isn’t the economy bad enough?  Listen, I know it was a lot of snow but why was the State is such disarray this time around?  Can anyone answer that?  I can’t.  I can only deal with the aftermath of this most-memorable blizzard.

I hope you’re all dug out and safe at home with your families.  Be well and…

Happy New Year!

© 2010 J. H-M and CultureChoc2010

5 responses to “Stuck in The Snow: A New Jersey Snowmare

  1. Unfortunately we’re evidently in a state of recession still…even though experts say we’re on the climb back up. However, towns may still be feeling the financial tightness and are not willing to pay enough overtime to the road departments. Then you’ve got the territory issue: no one wants to plow a road that is not within their town borders. Perhaps all those lane-ends of snow banks were because the plows simply stopped at their borders and expected the next town to contine. Up by us (BTW we only got about 6 inches or so…nothing to cripple us…this was a southern storm), our town (Ogdensburg) has the sanders and plowers out with the first snowflake sighting, however, the main route that runs through town is the county’s responsibility and they suck with plowing….I can get down my hill but once I’m on the county road it looks as though no one has been by with a plow or sander. The plowing differs from town to town too: in Sparta, the next town over…and the town that I have to drive through to get just about anywhere, doesn’t plow their roads until the snow stops falling. So trying to navigate through there is a nightmare between both the county road and the town roads being either shoddily plowed or not plowed at all. You’d think that our state would be ALWAYS prepared for this type of snowfall, considering we have a significant history of debilitating snow storms….and reside in a climate that can throw us just about any type of weather disaster. And you’re right: NJ taxes are sky-high; we should expect AT LEAST that our roads are clear enough that we wouldn’t be stuck in our homes for days after a storm.

  2. Glad you got your Dad home safely. Crazy picture of your house surrounded by snow. We got a decent amount of snow but not like South Jersey. Seems like the weather is changing these days cause you folks down south have been getting way more snow then us folks up north. Bloomfield has ALWAYS done a crappy job of snowplowing. I must admit where I live now they are great with the plows. We saw blacktop the first day as we always do even after a major snowstorm. Our only beef was it was recycable day and they said we’d have to wait now till the next recycling day which would make it one full month before getting a pick up. Luckily, I am married to a truck driver who went to the town yard and dumped it so I wouldn’t have to look at it another 2 more weeks. In the meantime, my kids and dog enjoyed the snow. And I never mind be snowbound with my hubby, the kids, and animals. I just went from one set of PJ’s to the next. And then I was even was brave enough to take a trip over to NYC on Wednesday. 🙂 Over there they were trucking snow out of the city!!! What a crazy scene! Happy New Year to you too!

  3. Great story – I have never seen that much snow after one snowfall, amazing. Excellent picture – do you have any more of them? Regarding the tires – why stay on RWD car on performance tires, instead of getting the winter tires on?

    Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

