My DVD Collection

Cover of "The Umbrellas of Cherbourg"

Cover of The Umbrellas of Cherbourg

Over the years I have amassed quite a VHS and DVD collection.  Some movies I watch over and over and some collect dust on the shelves where they live.  We have On Demand, Netflix, Netflix Watch Instantly and every movie channel on DTV‘s lineup but still there is never anything to watch.

When I am in desperate need to watch a movie and I can’t bear to watch the Netflix that I’ve had since August, I turn to my trusty collection of films.

  • 2 Days In Paris:  One of my favorite Parisian depictions.
  • Fast Times At Ridgemont High:  An 80’s classic that will never get old.
  • The Devil Wears Prada:  Brutal but great!
  • Amélie:  Typiquement français.
  • L’Auberge Espagnole:  Reminds me of my year abroad.
  • Friday:  An hysterical, acquired taste.
  • Next Friday:  Loving Craig and Dada.
  • Friday After Next:  Again.  It cracks me up.
  • Soul Plane:  Out of control comedy.
  • Laurel Canyon:  Makes me want to move to California with a Whiskey Sour in hand and explore my naughtier side.
  • The Breakfast Club:  Classic John Hughes.
  • Weird Science:  Kelly was so hot and the boys were so not.
  • Sixteen Candles:  Love it!
  • Just One of the Guys:  Typical 80’s.
  • Stripes:  Bill Murray is genius.
  • Gotcha:  Another classic 80’s.
  • Hollywood Knights:  Newbaum!
  • La Vie En Rose:  Great movie!
  • The Pope of Greenwich Village:  A classic.
  • The Good Thief:  Ahhh the south of France.
  • Moonstruck:  John’s fave.
  • Gigi:  One of the few musicals I love.
  • Les Parapluies de Cherbourg:  Ditto.  Catherine Deneuve – so young.
  • Scary Movie:  I just crack up.
  • Scream:  Stupid but never tiring.
  • Running With Scissors:  Bizarre.
  • Girls Just Wanna Have Fun:  SJP before Sex….
  • Jawbreaker:  Mean Girls part one.
  • Murder By Death:  Classic spoof.
  • Valley Girl:  80’s in the Valley – awesome.
  • Fraternity Vacation:  Love this!
  • Heaven Help Us:  Another great flick!  Kevin Dillon and Andrew McCarthy.
  • Dream On Seasons 1 & 2:  Martin Tupper rocks.
  • Weeds:  Nancy rocks in a dysfunctional screwed up way….
  • Sex And The City – The Series:  Always great to watch when I’m home sick and feeling better.
  • Nip/Tuck:  Christian – need I say more?
  • Not Another Teen Movie:  Bwhahahahahaha!

These are just a few – there are so many more.
What do you have in your DVD collection?

© 2011  J. H-M and CultureChoc2010

    10 responses to “My DVD Collection

    1. Shawshank Redemption
      For the Boys
      Top Gun
      Pearl Harbor
      Steel Magnolia’s
      Fried Green Tomatos
      Temptations
      Coyote Ugly
      Forest Gump
      Free Willy
      Dirty Dancing
      Sopranos of course! (I’m from Jersey!)

      Just to name a few! 🙂

    2. Star Wars (original 3)
      Brazil
      Lord of the Rings
      Raising Arizona
      The Princess Bride
      Road Warrior
      The Matrix
      The Terminator series

      Interesting… My tastes are eclectic but my bread and butter is scifi.

    3. This is an edited list, my faves:

      Entire Monty Python TV series
      Monty Python and the Holy Grail
      Most of the Monty Python cast movies
      Entire Absolutely Fabulous TV series
      Entire Little Rascals TV series
      Most of Woody Allen Classics
      Most of Mel Brooks’ Classics
      Its a Mad Mad Mad Mad World
      The Russians Are Coming, The Russians Are Coming
      Murder By Death
      1941
      Christmas Vacation
      After Hours
      Immortal Beloved
      LA Story
      The Big Lebowski
      Fargo
      O Brother Where Art Thou?
      Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas
      Killer Clowns From Outer Space
      Maximum Overdrive
      A Christmas Story
      Schoolhouse Rock (snipets)
      Sid and Marty Croft 70s kids series (including The Bugaloos and Sigmund the Sea Monster, HR Puffin Stuff, etc)
      The entire Rankin Bass Christmas videos collection
      I think I have to stop…I’m naming too many for this list!! LOL

    4. The Killing
      Smoke Signals
      The General
      Harold and Maude
      Morocco

    5. Les Parapluies de Cherbourg…I had completely forgotten about that movie. Reminds me of my high school French class! Now I want to watch it again…

    6. Mostly tv shows I love, like Sex and the City, Sopranos, Friends, Seinfeld etc. But a few movies as well, such as several mafia movies (Godfather..), the first Sex and the City movie, some Audrey Hepburn stuff (Breakfast at Tiffanys and so on) and probably quite a few others that I have forgotten about!

    7. Pingback: French Movies or Movies About France? I’m In! | Culturechoc2010's Blog

    Leave a Reply

    