Slow-Roasted Pork Shoulder… Absolutely Delicious!

Pork-roast

Image via Wikipedia

My cookbook collection is extensive but I think my cooking magazines outnumber them by many.

I have Bon Appétit, Cucina Italiana, Tastes of Italia, Fine Cooking, Clean Eating, Cooking Light, Eating Well, Italian Cooking & Living and a few others thrown in there for good measure.

I have every issue of Bon Appétit since 1988 and the others… well… being a shopaholic, you know the deal.

While leafing through a March 2006 issue of Tastes of Italia, I found a great recipe for Porchetta – Slow-Roasted Pork Shoulder.  The recipe’s author, Mary Elizabeth Rocco, really got it right.  This beauty is slow cooked in the oven for 6 1/2 hours.  Yes.  I said 6 1/2 hours.

Last time I roasted pork, it took 4 1/2 hours and I thought that it took forever but it was worth eating at 9 pm.  Note to self:  Start earlier next time!

I’m including the recipe below.  It’s definitely worth the time it takes to cook.  You won’t regret it.  Let me know how you like it.

Porchetta

1 boneless pork shoulder butt (6 – 7 lbs) (I used a bone-in)
1/4 cup + 2 tbsp olive oil
2 tbsp coarse sea salt
1 tsp freshly ground pepper
3 tbsp chopped fresh rosemary
3 tbsp chopped fresh sage
3 tbsp chopped fresh parsley
4 cloves garlic, diced
1 cup dry white wine
2 bay leaves

Preheat oven to 425º F.  Cut slits in the skin of the pork shoulder and set aside.  In a food processor, combine 1/4 cup olive oil, salt, pepper, rosemary, sage, parsley and garlic.  Process until a paste forms.  Rub the paste into the pork shoulder slits and all over the meat.  Heat 2 tablespoons of olive oil in a large Dutch Oven or ovenproof pot.

Add the roast and brown on all sides.  Remove the roast from the pot and set aside.  Add wine and bay leaves to the pot and scrape bits of the bottom.  Place a rack in the bottom of the pot (I omitted this step because I didn’t have a rack to fit inside my pot) and place the roast on rack.

Cover and place in oven.  Cook for 30 minutes, then reduce heat to 300º F and cook for 6 hours or until meat thermometer inserted into the thickest part registers 170º F.  The roast will be done when the meat falls apart to the touch.  Skim fat off the remaining pan juices.  Drizzle juice over the meat before serving.

Serves 16 – 20 – although I can probably eat the entire roast myself

The leftovers can be turned into carnitas, burritos, fajitas and even a great pork ragu over pasta.  I’ll be trying that one tonight.  I’ll let you know how it comes out.

So next time you’re home or stuck in the house all day, try this Porchetta.  It really is delicious!

© 2011  J. H-M and CultureChoc2010

2 responses to “Slow-Roasted Pork Shoulder… Absolutely Delicious!

Leave a Reply

