500 Reasons NOT to Procreate

My photos that have a creative commons license...

Image via Wikipedia

At the age of 43 I am 99% sure that I made the right decision by not having any children.

For years I was on the fence, always unsure and always ready with an excuse.  My husband wanted to “knock me up” as soon as we got married but I always came up with a sound reason not to do it.

My cats are so much work that I can’t imagine having children.  I give parents a lot of credit.  Although I think I’d be a great mother if I had a baby, unless God surprises me, I’m not planning on.  My ship hasn’t sailed yet but the older I get the less patience I have for EVERYONE.

Every time I see my friends having problems with their kids, I say “Reason number ____ I never had children.”  A bit of a joke but totally true for me.

So I decided to compile a list of reasons that I’ve used and I will post them here and then once I get a good list going.  A list that rings concerned and selfish – I make no excuses for it.  So here we go…

  1. If I wanted to come home at a certain time, I would have dogs or kids, not cats.  As far as I’m concerned dogs are too much work.
  2. Children cost money – a lot of money – for the rest of your life.  I know my Daddy is still so good to me.
  3. I would worry 24/7 about my kids – and I can’t do it.  I worry when I can’t find the cats in the house!  I won’t rest until I locate them.
  4. I don’t change diapers.  I changed 2 in my life – that was enough.
  5. I always HATED babysitting… enough said.
  6. I would have to give up my $300 shoes for $30 ones.

To be continued…

© 2011 J. H-M and CultureChoc2010

Leave a Reply

