My Mother’s Tortellini Soup – At Least I Hope It Is!

Basil plant leaves.

Image via Wikipedia

My mother uses to make this tortellini, tomato and basil soup that I used to love.  The other day I was craving it and tore the house apart looking for the recipe.  No luck.

I scoured the internet for a similar recipe.  No luck.

I called my father and asked him if he had it.  No luck.

So yet again I was on my own to re-create a dish that I had once loved.  Take my advice ladies – get your family recipes before you can’t get them anymore!

In any case, I came up with the following recipe.  My husband loved it.  My father loved it.  I hope you love it too.

Extra Virgin Olive Oil
6 cloves garlic, sliced thin
red crushed pepper to taste
Italian Seasonings
1 – 28 oz can diced tomatoes
a pinch of sugar
a splash of white wine
a handful of basil, torn
8 cups of chicken broth (I use bouillon cubes)
a couple of handfuls of fresh spinach
1 – 2 packages of frozen tortellini or small cheese-filled ravioli
salt & pepper
grated Romano cheese

In a large pot, heat about 1 tablespoon of olive oil.  Add garlic, crushed pepper, a good sprinkling of Italian seasonings and bouillon cubes if you’re using.  Cook until garlic starts to brown.

Add diced tomatoes with juices, about half of the basil, a pinch of sugar and a good splash of wine and cook for a minute or two, stirring.

Add chicken broth and bring to a boil.  Add pasta and spinach and cook according to pasta package directions.  Add remaining basil, a large handful of grated cheese and salt and pepper to taste.

Ladle into bowls and enjoy.

I think I got it right.  I’ll update it if I forgot anything.  I have to learn to write things down!

© 2011  J. H-M and CultureChoc2010

5 responses to “My Mother’s Tortellini Soup – At Least I Hope It Is!

  1. family recipes are so important! Treasure what you can remember 🙂

  2. One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating. ~Luciano Pavarotti

  3. Pingback: Pasta Caprese Revisted | Culturechoc2010's Blog

Leave a Reply

