Contesse “Thursday” Jeudi de la Mer

December 2010

Tonight I had to give away my cat for the second time in 2 weeks.

Thursday

No one should have to go through that.  The emotional turmoil is heart-breaking.  It’s not like she’s sick, or dying or mean – it just didn’t work out after 6 months.  If it were just she and I (with no other cats) – we would have been a perfect match.  She loved me and I love her.

Loss is another story.  I had to put my dog to sleep when she was too sick to live a comfortable and good life.  I stayed with her until she fell over into my arms  – just so she didn’t have to die alone.  Talk about emotional.

I watched my mother die in her hospital bed right after I told her that it was ok for her to go – she squeezed my hand and looked into my eyes, then closed hers.  I can’t describe how it feels to lose a parent.  Enough said about that – my emotions are soaring.

Anyway… back to my story….

I adopted Thursday in July from Petsmart in Brick through S.A.V.E. – a great rescue organization.  I wanted to adopt an older cat who would ideally co-mingle with my other 2 cats, Peaches and Bailey.

After 6 months it got worse.  Fighting, spraying, drawing blood, scratching.  Horrible.  I gave her to a single friend of mine and she was pissed.  She pooped and peed all over his house, hid for days and hissed and growled at him.  Two weeks later her brought her back to me.

As soon as she saw me she cuddled and purred and then I brought her back to S.A.V.E.  I stayed with her for what seemed liked hours hysterically crying and sobbing uncontrollably.

Fast forward 3 months and I said good-bye for the third time.  S.A.V.E. found her a home and they are picking her up tomorrow.  Fingers crossed.  I’m so happy for her.  She deserves a good home.

Tonight I stopped by Petsmart on the way home to say good-bye.  She looked at me through the glass and when she realized that it was me, she moved over to the holes and sniffed me and rubbed against the glass.  My waterworks started.

A nice gentleman was there and I told him who I was and he let me in to say bye.  She knew who I was immediately.  She was purring and nuzzling and cuddling me.  I was sobbing and telling her that Mommy loves her and not to be mad.

This went on for a while – it was heartbreaking.  Finally I closed the cage and she knew too, that it was for the last time.

Thursie, I’ll miss you.  I hope you have a happy life because it would make me happy too.

© 2011  J. H-M and CultureChoc2010

http://save.rescuegroups.org/

Leave a Reply

