Daily Archives: April 9, 2011

Matisse in Belmar, NJ

Henri Matisse. Woman with a Hat, 1905. San Fra...

Image via Wikipedia

Matisse Restaurant
1300 Ocean Avenue
Belmar, New Jersey
732-681-7680  *BYOB

Last week I went to TD Bank’s kick-off party for Jersey Shore Restaurant Week.  I tasted so many local restaurants’ fare, so I was anxious to make the most of the week ahead.

Last night in the pouring rain we made it to Matisse on the ocean in Belmar.  They offered 2 three-course menus, one for $20.11 and one for $30.11.  Since our reservations were at 8pm we took advantage of the latter.

I started with the Thai Coconut Scallop Ceviche which was very tasty.  My husband had the Tuna Tartare and we both found it to be a little bland.  There was no depth of flavor that you would expect with a Tartare.

We both ordered the Pan Seared Angus Rib Eye Steak for our main course.  I ordered it rare and John ordered his medium.  Both were cooked to perfection and tasted wonderful.

Our last course was delicious as well.  I enjoyed a Double-Chocolate Brownie with Whipped Cream and Berries and John indulged in Crispy French Toast with Vanilla Ice Cream and Raspberry Coulis.

All in all it was a pretty good dinner.  The steak was my favorite.  I’m very picky about my food.  A food snob as such – so it’s very hard to totally please me.

We got a $10 gift certificate to boot for coming in during Restaurant Week, so that will give us incentive to go again and order off their regular menu.

Try out Matisse and let me know what you think, so we can compare notes.

Until then… enjoy the Jersey Shore and all it has to offer!

© 2011 J. H-M and CultureChoc2010.


