In Search of the BEST…

While I consider myself to be a rather good chef, I am always in search of the perfect “dish”.  A way to improve which is already yummy and a constant longing for perfection of taste.

I think I’ve perfected my gravy and meatballs, Lasagna, New England Clam Chowder, Soft Polenta and Vodka Sauce to name a few, but I still cannot get 2 plates to the level that I expect them to be.

  1. Bolognese Sauce
  2. Shrimp & Grits

Let’s talk about Bolognese…  I’ve tried a ton of recipes – all good but none great.  Due Amici in Brielle, NJ has a great Bolognese that I can’t seem to duplicate no matter how hard I try.  I search and search for the ideal recipe to no avail.

As far as the fabulous southern dish… I ate the best Shrimp & Grits in Charleston, South Carolina but can’t seem to get it right.  The first recipe I made was done with a homemade fish stock –  it was good.  The second was made with prosciutto and the grits were very close to the way I make Polenta – this dish even better but not stupendous.  I’m going to try a spicy Andouille version next.

I want to prepare knock your socks off Bolognese and Shrimp & Grits (not together mind you) but I need your help.  Can anyone out there recommend any great recipes?

Sincerely,
Desperate for the Best

© 2011 J. H-M and CultureChoc2010.

Image: FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Leave a Reply

