Shells with Ricotta & Roquefort

Pecorino Romano and a glass of wine

Image via Wikipedia

Stupor-induced cooking is not necessarily a bad thing…

After deciding NOT to go back out on Friday night after I had just got home from an after-work drinking fest, I looked around my kitchen hoping for some notion of dinner that was not too complicated but tasted good.

I didn’t want Chinese again – I ate it earlier that week and in the tradition of ordering way too much Chinese food, I was totally sick of it.

I found a quarter of a box of small shell pasta and some leftover ricotta not yet affected by the blue mold growing on the top of the container.  I boiled the pasta and threw it together with a host of “on hand” items lingering in my pantry just waiting to be used.

I came up with a most delicious and quick macaroni that I hoovered down with the same enthusiasm of a five-star dinner.  I’ll try my best with the measurements.

Jacqui’s Shells with Ricotta & Roquefort

1/2 box small pasta shells
1/4 to 1/2 large container of part-skim ricotta
a good size chunk of Roquefort, broken up
grated Pecorino Romano
Truffle Oil
gray salt & pepper

Boil macaroni until al dente.

Meanwhile, in a bowl mix ricotta, Roquefort, Pecorino, salt & pepper together.  Top with drained, hot pasta, add Truffle Oil and mix well until a creamy mixture is achieved.  Adjust seasonings.

Serves 2-4.

I hope you enjoy it.  Let me know what you think.

© 2011 J. H-M and CultureChoc2010.

Leave a Reply

