Summer Garden Tomato Salad

Yesterday I grilled a marinated pork tenderloin and needed a side dish that was light and summery.  Instead of an ordinary tomato salad with olive oil and basil and garlic I decided to try a new twist on the usual suspect.  I raided my garden for fresh ingredients and was delighted at the results.  I actually wrote it down.  I rarely write my recipes down;  1.  because I don’t measure and 2.  because it rarely crosses my mind to put it down on paper.

I must say that it was delectable!  I had a hard time not eating the entire bowl.  I begrudgingly left some for my husband’s lunch and tucked it away in the fridge so it didn’t tempt me anymore.  John called me this morning to tell me that the salad was delicious and asked if I could make it again.  Good thing I wrote it down!

Jacqui’s Summer Tomato Salad

Salad:
3 – 4 tomatoes cut into chunks
a handful of cherry tomatoes from the garden
2 – 3 slices of Italian bread, toasted or grilled and rubbed with a garlic clove – cut into chunks
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 can cannellini beans, drained and rinsed
1 cucumber, peeled and chunked
a hunk of fresh mozzarella, diced
fresh herbs from garden:  basil, oregano, thyme – chopped
a handful of grated romano cheese
salt & pepper to taste
a pinch of sugar

Dressing (you may have extra):
1/4 c x virgin olive oil
a splash of balsamic vinegar
salt and pepper
fresh thyme – a pinch

Combine all salad ingredients in a bowl.  Toss.  In a small bowl or measuring cup, combine dressing ingredients and whisk well.  Pour over salad and mix together.  Season with salt and pepper.

Serves 4-6

The bread soaks up the dressing and transforms into a mouth-watering delight.  Let me know what you think.  Enjoy!

© 2011 J. H-M and CultureChoc2010.

6 responses to “Summer Garden Tomato Salad

  1. Jacqui..this looks soooo delicious!!! Will definitely make this!

  2. yummy ..
    I am tempted to try this!

  3. mmm that looks delicious 🙂 we have our on vegetable garden so i think i’m gonna try it this weekend with goodies from my own garden 🙂

  4. Pingback: My Early Morning Rant… And It’s Only Tuesday! | Culturechoc2010's Blog

  5. Pingback: Watermelon and Heirloom Tomato Salad | Culturechoc2010's Blog

Leave a Reply

