Baths vs. Showers: The Best Way To Get Wet

When I was little I always wanted to take a big-girl shower.  My mom made me take baths for a long time but I endlessly longed for a that spray of water on top of my head while I opened my mouth to get a taste.

As a teenager, I thought baths were gross.  Sitting there in your own filthy water while an errant hair floats by – YUK!  I could not bear it and I had to have the cleanest OCD tub in NJ.

Adulthood has brought me to the realization that I love baths again.  A bubble bath, an oil bath, a foam bath or a salt bath.  I’ll take them all.  I lower the lights in my bathroom, light some scented candles, pour a glass of Old Vine Zin and try to coax my other half to join me (he never does – I think we need a bigger tub).

I dream about a giant tub for two.  A bathtub where I can stretch out, covered in water from neck to toe (with no parts sticking out).  A soaking tub – with heated jets and aromatherapy – and maybe a sauna or steam to boot.

I’m glad that I haven’t forgotten – or rather can re-appreciate a good old bath and its therapeutic qualities.

What do you prefer?  A bath or a shower?  I still can’t decide the best way to get wet…. well I can, but that has nothing to do with bathing – but that’s another blog.

Image: Filomena Scalise / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

© 2010 J. H-M and CultureChoc2010. Re-published 2011.

4 responses to “Baths vs. Showers: The Best Way To Get Wet

  1. I love baths. I haven’t had one in a long time because the small jacuzzi tub plumbing is broken and I refuse to use the giant two person jacuzzi. Don’t get me wrong, the extra large tub is wonderful, I just hate having to clean it out afterwards and it also takes a great deal of water to fill it up. Ihope to get the small one going again, so I can get a good soak in.

  2. This was very intertesting to read, but, but, but, there exists Sauna. I love Sauna, all Finnish people love Sauna.

    Here is my Sauna post

    Happy week-end!

  3. I looove baths, but my tub is leaky and not very conducive. So showers it is…sigh.

  4. Pingback: Clarke Soaking Biscuit Color Bath Low Above Floor Rough Walk-In | The Deep Soaking BathTub Store

Leave a Reply

