Send Me Your Money So I Don’t Have to Start Hooking!

The economy is so bad right now that we are all feeling it.  It doesn’t matter if you make $200,000 a year or $20,000 a year – everyone is affected.

The past 2 years have been a struggle.  If I ask my dad for any more money I’m going to revert back to my childhood or I’ll have to become his personal indentured servant.  Thank God for Daddy!

I have never had any bill paying issues in my life but recent circumstances have made me join the ranks of the common folk.  I live paycheck to paycheck (like everyone else) and actually have to watch what I spend.  I’m doing fine but at the same time, it’s so not in my makeup to budget.  What’s that?  A struggle is an understatement – it’s more like a battle.

So I’ve changed my lifestyle.  No more extravagant dinners out and about – frankly no more dinners at all.  No more clothes or shoe shopping unless it’s a necessity – but I highly doubt I will need another pair of shoes since I have so many already.

American Express

Image via Wikipedia

It’s tough and not pleasant at all.  The stress is high and the morale is low.

I recently read an article about the economy and credit cards.  Analysts said that the economy is improving because there has been more use of credit cards recently.  Bullshit!  Did they even take into consideration that people are using their cards for food and gas because they have no cash?

That’s my scenario.  Gas and food on credit cards.  Internet and any other car tragedies are added too.  But add at your own risk!  The damn banks have lowered all your limits, increased interest rates and minimum payments.  That leaves the consumer in a hole and the hole gets deeper every day.

Christ!  I haven’t taken my cats to vets as regularly as I used to – no $$$$$!

We’re all in the same sinking boat!  And as it gets harder and harder to live (in NJ) and prosper, so we pray that we stay afloat.

How are you dealing with the bad economy?  What changes have YOU made?

I hope and pray that it turns around and soon because all we do is work and work and have nothing to show for it.  At least I have a roof over my head and I am in much better shape than some.

Please donate to my cause… ME… so I don’t have to start hooking!

I’d love to hear your thoughts.

© 2011 J. H-M and CultureChoc2010.

4 responses to “Send Me Your Money So I Don’t Have to Start Hooking!

  1. LOL… your pain I do feel! Unfortunately I have been laid off ( just today)from my sixth job in 2 and a half years and have 10 days to find a dwelling for myself and 2 boys, I lost my house to foreclosure. This economy sucks and I wish the hell it would turn around…I wish you luck! I really do:-)

  2. I’VE NEVER KNOWN A LIFE THAT WASN’T ON A STRICT BUDGET. TO BE HONEST, I PREFER IT. I KNOW THAT THE HAPPINESS I HAVE IS PURE AND OF MY HEART AND SOUL. MY HAPPINESS AND WORTH ISN’T MEASURED IN DOLLARS, CENTS AND PILES OF SHOES OR DESIGNER JEANS. MY JOY COMES FROM THE LOVE IN MY HEART FOR MY FAMILY AND FRIENDS. LIVING ON A BUDGET MAKES YOU STRONG AND RESOURCEFUL. MY HUSBAND AND I HAVE NO CREDIT CARDS. OUR MOTTO IS “IF WE DON’T HAVE THE MONEY FOR IT RIGHT NOW WE DON’T GET IT. PERIOD.” THAT’S NOT TO SAY WE AREN’T STRUGGLING LIKE THE REST OF THE COUNTRY, BUT I’M COMFORTED IN THE THOUGHT THAT I DON’T OWE FOR MEANINGLESS CRAP. MY ADVICE WOULD BE TO START CLIPPING COUPONS. SHOP AT THE DISCOUNT GROCERY STORES. FORGET ABOUT MAKEUP FROM THE DEPARTMENT STORE AND HAIR AND NAIL TREATMENTS CAN BE DONE IN YOUR BATHROOM.

Leave a Reply

