The Three Little Pig Sandwich – A Re-post

Recently I was watching an episode of Anthony Bourdain‘s No Reservations:  Chicago.  At the Silver Palm Restaurant he was eating a sandwich called The Three Little Pigs and it completely peaked my foodie interest.

It looked sinful, fattening and delicious!  Oh, and it was big enough to choke a horse… I had to try it.

Smoked ham, a breaded pork cutlet, 2 strips of bacon, 2 fried eggs, covered in Gruyère and encased in a Brioche bun.  Truly a heart attack waiting to happen.  I mean, you’d blow your calorie allowance for an entire week by eating this mammoth fare.

So last night I made my own version of this mouth-watering goody.  I cooked everything on the grill (grill-griddle for eggs and bacon) because it’s too hot inside.   I took some chef’s liberties by substituting along the way – though I think it would have tasted even better using the original recipe.

2 boneless pork chops, butterflied
1 egg for dipping
panko
4 – 6 slices of smoked ham – I used applewood smoked ham
4 eggs
4 slices of Gruyère – I used Manchego
4 slices of bacon
2 brioche rolls – I used 2 hard rolls
salt & pepper to taste

Butterfly chops and sprinkle with salt and pepper .  Dip in egg and coat with panko – grill, bake, broil or pan-fry pork until cooked through.

Cook bacon until crispy & fry eggs (sprinkle with salt & pepper).  Just before eggs are done top with cheese and melt.
Warm smoked ham.  I threw it on the grill.

Assemble sandwich on roll:  pork cutlet, ham, eggs & cheese and bacon.

Serves 2.

I have to say that this was a great sandwich but I couldn’t finish it all.  I could feel my pressure going up from all the salty piggy, but once in a while won’t hurt.

This is definitely a must-try sandwich.  My version is smaller than the original.  Let me know what you think.

pigs

Enjoy!

© 2011 J. H-M and CultureChoc2010.  Re-posted 2012.

4 thoughts on “The Three Little Pig Sandwich – A Re-post

Add yours

  1. A friend of mine tried to eat the Three Little Pigs at the Silver Palm and couldn’t even get halfway through. We’ve never let him forget it.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑