FALL Back into Healthy Eating Habits

 

When I think of Fall, I think about 1.  Back to School (back to work for me), 2.  the Fall collections and how I can integrate the new trends into my wardrobe without draining my bank account and 3. going back on my damn diet!

I’ve eaten to excesses this summer with no exercise, except for an occasional tennis game, and I know I gained weight.

Now it’s time to buckle down so I can get into my single-digit sizes again and Clean Eating Magazine is one of my favorites to get me motivated.  It has great recipes that will put you on the right eating path and make you stay there.

Last night I made Spicy Red Quinoa Jambalaya from Clean Eating’s March 2012 issue.  I’ve made it before and it was delicious.  This time I made a few modifications because I didn’t want to go to the store yet again – and it was still delicious!

Spicy Red Quinoa Jambalaya

  • 1 cup red quinoa, rinsed
  • 1/4 lb low-fat spicy turkey sausage, cut into half-inch pieces, casings removed  I used 3 links of smoked chorizo
  • 2 plum tomatoes cut into large chunks
  • 1 red bell pepper, sliced into 1/4 inch strips
  • 1 yellow bell pepper, sliced into 1/4 inch strips
  • 1 orange bell pepper, sliced into 1/4 inch strips  I subbed some Italian peppers and a jalapeno from the garden
  • 1 cup of low sodium chicken broth
  • 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes
  • 1 lb shrimp, peeled and deveined
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper

Cook quinoa according to package directions.

Meanwhile, heat a large saute pan on medium high heat.  Add sausage and saute stirring occasionally for 2 minutes.  Add tomatoes and bell peppers and saute for 2 minutes.

Stir in broth and pepper flakes and bring to a boil.  Cover and cook for 5 minutes.

Distribute shrimp evenly over the top of sausage-pepper mixture.  Cover and cook undisturbed for 5 minutes, until shrimp are firm and pink.

Season quinoa with salt and pepper, transfer to a large serving dish and top with sausage mixture.

Serves 4.       1  3/4 cups of sausage mix and 1/2 cup quinoa.  Calories 335.

I hope you enjoy it as much as we did!

© 2012 J. H-M and CultureChoc2010. Recipe courtesy of Clean Eating Magazine.

 

Leave a Reply

