Pasta Salad in a Pinch

Today I made hamburgers and hot dogs for lunch.  I wanted something else with it so I concocted a new version of pasta salad with ingredients I had in the house and in the garden.

Pantry Pasta Salad

1 English cucumber, diced
1 can small white beans, drained and rinsed
1 diced tomato – whatever you have on hand
1 clove garlic, minced
2 rounded tbsp of red onion, diced
a handful of mixed herbs from garden – I used basil, thyme, tarragon, mint, parsley
1/2 lb small shell pasta
1 hard-boiled egg, diced for garnish
olive oil
salt & pepper to taste

In a large bowl add first 6 ingredients.  Boil pasta until al dente and run under cold water to stop cooking process and cool.

Add pasta to bowl with salt, pepper and olive oil to taste.  Stir well and garnish with egg.

Serves 4 – 8.

Let me know what you think.  Enjoy!

© 2011 J. H-M and CultureChoc2010.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑